Evaluation of project 2

For this project we had to create a interactive dossier on Indesign that promotes a game. The game was called The Age of Napoleon, the story was Napoleon while in Egypt found the Tesseract which he used to create new weapons to defeat his enemies and the period of game is set in the 1870’s. The client was a company called Punka Studios. The target audience was mainly aimed at teenage boys. The target was teenage boys because of the genre and type of game it is, First Person Shooter/Adventure (FPS/FPA) game. FPS and FPA main target audiences are mainly between the ages of 12-18 year old and are mainly boys. We created the dossier on Indesign so we can use it on a mobile device like a phone on tablet, this was so any can use it at any time so it does not limit are audience to our target audience.

The goal of our project was to create a working interactive dossier that promotes Age of Napoleon. The dossier would contain lore/information about the world we are creating like important events and characters. It would also contain audio aids and visual aids like pictures and created work on Photoshop, Audacity and 3DS Max.

During the planing process of the project, we picked out of a hat what faction we would design a dossier for (factions were Napoleon, Resistance led by Thomas Edison and Spies led by Louis Daguerre). My group got the spies faction and we split the project up into parts. Two members of my group were designing plans for layouts and objects to put into the dossier. Me and two other members of my group were researchers, we went and found useful sources of information that we can use as influence for ideas and even though the story was not entirely accurate, keep the story roughly accurate for example events that took place before the Napoleonic Wars. We also created our own individual work like scripts. During the Production stage of the project we split this stage into five areas. The areas were sub-dossiers in the whole dossier, the areas were Daguerre profile, Charles Dickens profile, spies profile, Intel (mine) and gadgets (never got completed). Post production we started to test the project, the biggest problem we had was buttons where we created each section individually on separate documents and combined them together. The problem was the button commands did not adjust to the changes, so for example if the button command was to go to page 2 on the original document, on the combined document the page we want it to go to might have changed but the command will stay the same. After we done our own testing we asked other people to test it. The main response was we needed to make it clearer on how to navigate our dossier. We started to make it clearer that but we ran out of time and found it difficult to find a way of making it easier to let people know how to navigate that was not commanding them to do so.

Unit 5 (LO3.1): Investigating Audio Production and Technology 

The biggest problem I had with the audio during the production and post production process was probably just the lack of experience of voice acting, before this project I never done any voice acting so my voice in my recordings may sound boring and emotionless. I think with experience it could be better, I think this shows because my first recording (I did not use in the dossier) I found bad and did not like but the second one I created and used on the Germany page on my section of the dossier, I liked because it was largely better than the first voice recording due to me knowing what I was doing a bit more. Another problem I had was creating sounds because my audio log had gun fire and explosions in it. These sounds I could not create so I had to get them from a website called freesound.org. The outcome I found was really good, probably a bit too loud but I found it was effective. To make my audio log better I think I could have made it sound more like a audio log by adding other sounds like a cassette being added in to a cassette player at the beginning and end and making it sound low quality because at the time period the game is set they only just invented sound recording. The audio skills I learned in this project was voice acting, audio mixing and audio creating on Audacity. These skills will be good to have in my final major project because I am planing on creating a video with me narrating over it.

Unit 6 (LO3.1): Investigating Visual Production and Technology 

A visual problem I have was on a page that has two 3D models on it and they rotate. The I have is when they are both playing at the same time, they cause some frame rate issues with each other. I could not figure out away to fix this issue but you can pause both 3D models which fixes the frame rate issue. I could have moved one model to a different page but the page they were on is where I needed them. Probably the biggest problem I had was my pages did not need a lot of visual objects, so I created some content that would require and be useful with a visual aid. Fixing my visual problems was very effective because it helped me create a large amount of content for my pages. I think my visual object in my project could be better if I had a bit more time or if I focused on one and created another one when I’m happy with what I created instead of creating multiple visual objects at the same time. The visual skills I learnt was making something look like parchment on Photoshop and animating textures on 3DS Max. These skills would be useful for my final major project because I want to create a video that describes how I think Germany could have won either the first or second world war and the consequences of it and I want to create a 2D drawing of myself or just a character to present it.

Unit 7 (LO3.1): Investigating Interactive Media Production and Technology

We created the dossier on Indesign and viewed it on Adobe Content Viewer because Indesign allowed us to add interactive elements to our dossiers like video, audio, multi-state objects (like a PowerPoint Presentation) and buttons. The problem we had with the interactive buttons was when we transferred the documents over to one document, the buttons did not work correctly because on the page layout on Indesign they stayed in their own columns instead of combining into one column because of this the buttons would only work on each individual column and would not send you to another column. We fixed this by coping every column at the same time and pasting it and tell it to paste as one column and then deleted the unwanted columns. This fixed that problem but created another one. The problem that was created by combining all our pages was all the buttons that took you to a specific page that did not have the command to go to next or previous page will not have adjusted to the document transfer and we had to change all the commands manually, so we had to test every button and change anything that needed changing. One problem we found with interactivity was found when asking other people to test it was it was not clear what was interactive and what was not interactive. We could not find a solution to this problem because we could not do it with out commanding the user what to do and we ran out of time to find a good solution. Fixing the problems we had was effective because it made our dossier work properly, if we did not fix the button problems it would not met the specification that were required for this task and if it was a real task for a real company, it would be rejected or make the company look bad if it was released. I could have made it better by creating a video for each page that has images from the Napoleonic Wars and a narration of the text on the page instead of making the user just read the text. The skills I learnt was how to create interactive elements on an Indesign document and they could be transferred to other programs but I do not think it could be useful for my final major project since I am creating a video but I could create multiple videos with different scenarios and add hyperlinks to them.

Leave a Reply

