Advance Texture

To start advance textures, I found a texture of a wall I liked on http://www.textures.com/. I then got it into 3DSwhere I turned it into a Diffuse map,  Specular map and Bump map.

For creating a Diffuse map I created a plane in 3DS max, 300cm by 300cm. Then I opened up the material editor by pressing M on the keyboard. I then click on a material ball to make sure it is selected. I then clicked on Maps to get more options and then selected none next Diffuse Color. Then double click bitmap to then be able to import the wall texture I got. I then found the wall texture I wanted to use and clicked on open to import it. After importing it, I clicked on parent. I then clicked on Assign Material to Selection and then Show Shaded Material in Viewport. I now can see the wall texture on my plane. That is how I created the Diffuse map of my wall.

To create a Specular map, first in Photoshop I desaturated the image of my wall texture (made it black and white). I did this by going to Image, Adjustments and Desaturate. After this I adjusted the level by pressing ctrl+L and made the bright parts of the image brighter and pushed down the dark parts of the image. After this I saved it as a JPEG. On the same file on 3DS Max as my Diffuse map I opened up the Material Editor and on the same material ball. Then again under Maps, I clicked on none next to Specular Level, and selected bitmap. Then another window will pop up allowing me to import a texture. I clicked on my Specular map JPEG and clicked open. Then I clicked on parent. The specular is not showing just yet, to do this on the material editor, click on Material near the top. Then I went down to Show Material in Viewport As. Then I selected Realistic Material as Maps. After doing this, I turned down the glossiness so it is not to shiny. Now I added I light to the viewport by going to the create tab and selecting light. Then click on free light and a box appeared and on that box I clicked yes. I added the light in near one corner. The plane texture is now reflecting light.

When creating the bump map, I started in the diffuse map again. Then I desaturated the image again, but this time I made the image a lot brighter in level editor. Saved it as a JPEG again. In the same 3DS max file as the diffuse and specular maps. In the material editor under Maps on the same material ball, I clicked on none next to Bump and then bitmap. A window opened allowing me to selected my Bump Map texture. Then I clicked on parent in the material editor. Now the wall looks 3D.

To simplify what each map do, diffuse map is the normal texture. Specular map is to make the texture reflect light. The Bump map makes the texture look 3D.

Leave a Reply

